Justin Dingwall
(1983-)

Photographer
based in Johannesburg, South Africa

Justin Dingwall achieved a Baccalaureus Technologies in Photography Cum Laude from the Tshwane University of Technology in 2004. Dingwall has exhibited his work both locally in South Africa and internationally. He has been selected for various awards including, SA Taxi Foundation Art Award 2015, Sasol New Signatures 2014, and IPA – int’l photography awards 2013, ‘Portrait of the Year’ at the 2018 International Photography Awards…
The artist creates images that resonate with emotion and challenges traditional notions of beauty. His works leans towards the unusual, and avenues less travelled with cultural undertones.

My intention for my photography’s to become a celebration of beauty in difference. “They are not about race or fashion, but about perception, and what we subjectively perceive as beauty. I wanted to create a series of images that resonate with humanity and make people question what is beautiful”. My interest lies in the unique and the different. “To me diversity is what makes humanity interesting”.
I met Moostapha Saidi via Facebook at the beginning of 2018. I was blown away by his poise, inner strength and determination. And at that moment I knew that I had to create something with him. The series was developed through our continuous discussions and conversations. Moostapha does not view his vitiligo as a hindrance but as something precious and unique.

In a closer study of each work, you can see where I have foregrounded certain elements and symbols. These symbols have inspired my perceptions as an artist and are significant in my intention to affect the viewers’ perspective. The eyes are a representation of today’s society and how we stare at people who are different, and who do not fit into our preconceived ideas. In this image it is now Moostapha who is staring back at the viewer. Questioning our gaze.
The symbols of light and dark are a reflection of my medium. I use the characteristic nature of photography to capture a unique frame of reference. I like to use light in such a way as to represent the revealing of the unseen. Light represents enlightenment, and it is contrasted against the element of darkness to emphasize the unseen.

1831 Art Gallery Paris
6, rue de Lille – 75007 Paris
Tél. : +33 (0)1 75 51 78 68
Email : hello@1831artgallery.com

© 2020 – 1831 ART GALLERY – Legal notice

Justin Dingwall
(1983-)

Photographe
basé à Johannesburg, Afrique du Sud

Justin Dingwall a obtenu un diplôme de photographie avec mention très bien de l’Université de technologie de Tshwane en 2004. Dingwall a exposé son travail à la fois localement en Afrique du Sud et à l’étranger. Il a été sélectionné pour de nombreux prix, notamment le SA Taxi Foundation Art Award 2015, Sasol New Signatures 2014 et les IPA – int’l photography awards 2013, ‘Portrait of the Year’ at the 2018 International Photography Awards…
L’artiste crée des images qui résonnent avec l’émotion et remettent en question les notions traditionnelles de beauté. Ses œuvres s’orientent vers l’inhabituel, et des voies moins empruntées avec des sous-entendus culturels.

Mon intention est que ma photographie devienne une célébration de la beauté dans la différence. “Il ne s’agit pas de race ou de mode, mais de perception, et de ce que nous percevons subjectivement comme beauté. Je voulais créer une série d’images en résonance avec l’humanité et faire en sorte que les gens s’interrogent sur ce qui est beau”. Mon intérêt réside dans l’unique et le différent. “Pour moi, la diversité est ce qui rend l’humanité intéressante”.
J’ai rencontré Moostapha Saidi via Facebook au début de l’année 2018. J’ai été impressionné par son équilibre, sa force intérieure et sa détermination. Et à ce moment-là, j’ai su que je devais créer quelque chose avec lui. La série a été développée grâce à nos discussions et conversations continues. Moostapha ne considère pas son vitiligo comme un obstacle, mais comme quelque chose de précieux et d’unique.

En étudiant de plus près chaque œuvre, vous pourrez voir que j’ai mis en avant certains éléments et symboles. Ces symboles ont inspiré mes perceptions en tant qu’artiste et sont significatifs de mon intention d’influencer la perspective des spectateurs. Les yeux sont une représentation de la société actuelle et de la façon dont nous regardons les gens qui sont différents et qui ne correspondent pas à nos idées préconçues. Dans ces images, c’est maintenant Moostapha qui fixe le spectateur en retour. Il interroge notre regard.
Les symboles de la lumière et de l’obscurité sont le reflet de mon médium. J’utilise la nature caractéristique de la photographie pour capturer un cadre de référence unique. J’aime utiliser la lumière de manière à représenter le dévoilement de l’invisible. La lumière représente l’illumination, et elle est mise en contraste avec l’élément de l’obscurité pour souligner l’invisible.

1831 Art Gallery Paris
6, rue de Lille – 75007 Paris
Tél. : +33 (0)1 75 51 78 68
Email : hello@1831artgallery.com

© 2020 - 1831 ART GALLERY - Legal notice